16th March, 2016 (after reading Citizen)

by Brendan Strong

I have been Right On
I have been conscious of the content
I have been careful with my comment
Careful not to construct
Bogeymen from dust

Because some people might be bad
Or at least throw away opportunites they’ve had
But no one person should stand
In for a whole race or People like that –

Don’t the Irish have drunks and brats
Aren’t plenty of white people psychopaths?

I have been right off
Did not consider context
Ancestors swinging from trees by necks
Erasure of collective memory and lived existence
And what that means when you ask

“What does it mean to be me?”

And the only response is as empty as silence
And as wide as a scream.

Waiting for the Right On
To look at the context
Instead of turning or shaking a head
Embarrassed that the other one
Isn’t so Right On
Can’t even imagine
A scene like this:
This, that’s happening now, the trigger
Word, which the Right On can try to ignore

And the only response is as empty as silence
And as wide as a scream.

