9th February, 2016 (A new watch)

by Brendan Strong

My ridiculous watch arrived!
The one I bought online
Randomly, for a “Sale” price,
During a wine drinking night,
Because delivery time was undefined.
It’s a binary watch, but not quite –
A knock off that looks roughly right.
The pattern is wrong, but it lights
Up to tell the correct time.

The jeweller held her nose against a stink tight,
When I asked if a link could be spliced
From the too-big-bracelet: she knew it was shite!
“I can”, she said “but there’s a price,
Ten euro and fifteen minutes to get it right.
For now, you can go away” (maybe I disturbed her light).
Ten euro is close to the original price,
But even if it’s cheap, it might as well be “nice”.

Postscript
The finish has already started to fade
Within a matter of days
But no matter, is what I say,
It’s cheap and it’s fun, and it deserves its praise.

