January 28th, 2016 Run Brendan, Run!

by Brendan Strong

Running for the first time in years
Not for your leisure or fitness
Not for your health or to tell people:
“Yaw, I was running for the first time in years”

Running for the first time in years
From necessity. Like a cave man
Or a Victorian, or someone in fear
For their lives. Which is rare over here.

Running for the first time in years,
For a bus I can see across the quays,
The driver of which cannot see me.
Fates however have intervened, he is running late and I am

Running for the first time in years
Passing and nearly bumping into
Dubliners, who are suspicious, preferring, it seems,
To be the passers and the bumpers into others.

Running for the first time in years
He is just out of reach, pulling in
And the others are getting on and
If I stop, he will be pulling off

And

I

will

be

left

forever

Running for the first time in years

