Christmas on Ice (an Exercise)

by Brendan Strong

I missed the cold this winter, with clear skies and frozen snow
After Disney’s success with my kids (with Elsa and Anna, of course)
We wanted to build a snowman, but no day was clear and cold.

We sat at the window for days, as the grey clouds let it go
All through the Christmas holiday, pouring rain kept us indoors
I missed the cold this winter, with clear skies and frozen snow

We walked the dog when we could, when the clouds kept the rain on hold
We sang the songs from Frozen (with dancing and knocking at doors)
We wanted to build a snowman, but no day was clear and cold.

The girls put on their dresses to do “Anna and Elsa at home”
When we weren’t playing the parts, we’d watch the movie once more
I missed the cold this winter, with clear skies and frozen snow

I was Kristoff, Hans. Olaf, Oaken: I was who I was told
Stuck in the house, mad dramatists, an unlikely troupe of four
We wanted to build a snowman, but no day was clear and cold.

Then the holidays ended: back to work and school we go
We grumbled getting up: that Monday was particularly poor
I missed the cold this winter, with clear skies and frozen snow
We wanted to build a snowman, but no day was clear and cold.

