A Mercenary For Your Love

by Brendan Strong

Inspired by @PartickFreyne1 (on Twitter) and a programme about private security on RTE 1. This is a country song. It is also only draft 1. There probably won’t be a draft 2.

***

Alone in the prison cell of diamond lust

Plotting murder for your love (for your love)

Staring down the barrel of a gun (a gun)

Plotting murder for your love (for your love)

*

Baby, I’m a mercenary for your love

I’m gonna hit paydirt while earning your love

Baby, I’m a mercenary for your love

Getting ready to war for your love

*

Well,  your daddy never did like me much

But now he’s the feed for the worms in the mulch,

God damn that girl was pretty, but I blew her head off

Cos baby I’m a mercenary for your love

*

Baby, I’m a mercenary for your love

I’m gonna hit paydirt while earning your love

Baby, I’m a mercenary for your love

Getting ready to war for your love

*

So now, there’s just you and me

And this is the way it was meant to be

I’m hanging up my guns

Cos I’m a mercenary for your love

And now I have your love.

