Christmas Song with a Summer Anthem Feel

by Brendan Strong

This is a Christmas song, but should be sung with a Summer Anthem feel.

My Christmas Summer Dream

We waited for you – for what seemed the longest time

We thought we knew what we knew – and we knew you’d be fine

As we packed our bags from work and school – we never felt so free

Jesus you were on your way, to be with all who believe

And with a Jingle Bells and Santa’s Sleigh, you came into our lives

We thought that it could never fade, your ever shining light

But like the sherry and the cream, you were gone with the mince pies

We’ll see you next year I know, for now we’ll remember the good times

We circled round the christmas tree, and shared our moments of joy

We kept our dissapointments quiet, and played with the better toys

We shared our Christmas cheer, but there was something about you boy

They were singing songs of light, that made it sound like you were born in Troy

And with a Jingle Bells and Santa’s Sleigh, you came into our lives

We thought that it could never fade, your ever shining light

But like the sherry and the cream, you were gone with the mince pies

We’ll see you next year I know, for now we’ll remember the good times

After 12 days, it was time to go, but I begged my parents “No!”

They looked at me like some punk kid, said there’s no more “Ho, Ho Ho!”

The tree came down, the baubles too, and before I knew what I know

The decorations were in the shed, and Christmas had to fold

And with Jingle Bells and Santa’s Sleigh, you came into our lives

We thought that is could never fade, but our parents switched off the lights

And like the sherry and the cream, you mean so much to me

I know I’ll see you next year, my Christmas Summer Dream

